Latest News

About APPGS - Purpose

The APPGS was established in 1994 and aims to increase understanding about skin care issues in Parliament and to achieve improvements in the treatment and management of patients with skin disease. It also provides an unbiased means of responding to threats to dermatology services and acts as a forum for partners in skin care to engage with politicians with an interest in the issue.

Sir Paul Beresford MP

Sir Paul Beresford MP

The APPGS has a large and active membership that includes MPs from all political parties, members of the House of Lords, health professionals, patient groups and commercial interests.

The APPGS benefits from input from its Advisory Group, which holds three to four meetings a year. The activities of the Advisory Group are subject to the approval of the Group’s parliamentary officers and its Chair, Sir Paul Beresford MP.

As with every other All Party Group, the activities of the APPGS do not reflect the views of Parliament and neither do they constitute official business of the House of Commons or the House of Lords.


The APPGS maintains the following broad set of aims:

  • To raise awareness of skin related issues in Parliament.
  • To improve the treatment and management of patients with skin conditions.
  • To provide an unbiased means of responding to threats to dermatology.
  • To provide a forum for all skin interested stakeholders.
  • To advise, and make recommendations to Government, on improving the management and treatment of skin related conditions.

Members of the Advisory Group
• Nick Evans (Chair)
• David Eedy (President of the British Association of Dermatologists)
• Prof. Christopher Bunker (British Association of Dermatologists)
• Berkeley Greenwood/Mark Johnson (Decideum; Secretariat)
• Dr Stephen Kownacki (Chairman of the Primary Care Dermatology Society)
• Helen McAteer (Psoriasis Association)
• Rebecca Penzer (Specialist Nurse)
• Dr Mandy Platts (General Practitioner)
• Dr Julia Schofield (Dermatologist)
• Nigel Scott (Herpes Viruses Association)
• Julie Van Onselen (Specialist Nurse)
• Rebecca Penzer (Specialist Nurse)
• Michael Yarrow (Industry Rep)

Special Advisers
• Andrew Thompson (Psychological Adviser)
• Jennifer Viles
• Ray Jobling